Skip to main content

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Penal Affairs

Originally formed in 1980, the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Penal Affairs aims to increase its members’ knowledge of penal affairs and to work through parliamentary channels for reform of the penal system.

The group meets regularly and hears presentations from a wide range of people and organisations. Full minutes of meetings are available in this section.

Governance of the APPGPA

At an Annual General Meeting held on 23 May 2023, Paul Maynard MP was re-elected as chair of the Group; Lord Carlile, Baroness Prashar, Marie Rimmer MP and Andrew Selous MP were re-elected vice chairs; and Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts was re-elected secretary. The group is listed in the Register of All-Party Groups. The income and expenditure statement for the Group’s reporting year is available by clicking here.

The Prison Reform Trust’s deputy director, Mark Day, is clerk to the group. Zoe Burton provides administrative assistance and Julia Braggins writes the minutes.

The Barrow Cadbury Trust kindly supports the Prison Reform Trust to provide the Secretariat to the group.


Page 5